north eastern hill university

North Eastern Hill University – College Details

About College:North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), is a Central University established on 19 July 1973 by an Act of the Indian Parliament. The university is in the suburb of Shillong, the state capital of Meghalaya, India. The university has two campuses: Shillong and Tura in Meghalaya. NEHU Tura Campus functions under a pro-vice chancellor.

It was established as a regional university for the states of northeast India, including Meghalaya, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram, and had given birth to Nagaland University in 1994 and Mizoram University in 2001.

The National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) ranked North-Eastern Hill University 88 overall in India and 61 among universities in 2018

College Details

College Name: North Eastern Hill University
Affiliated To: UGC
Category:  Co-ed
Address: North-Eastern Hill University, Umshing
Mawkynroh Shillong 793022, Meghalaya
Phone:   0364-2721777 or 0364-2307930

Minimum Eligibility Criteria for UG & PG Courses

Candidates who have passed Standard XII with minimum 50% aggregate marks fulfill North-Eastern Hill University eligibility criteria for UG course admissions. Candidates who have cleared their graduation with at least 50% marks are eligible for North-Eastern Hill University admissions in PG courses.

It may be noted that the eligibility criteria in terms of minimum percentage required might change according to the course a candidate is applying for.

Courses Offered

  • School of Economics, Management etc.
    • Agri-Business Management and Food Technology (Tura)
    • Commerce Department
    • Economics Department
    • Journalism and Mass Communication
    • Library & Information Science department
    • Management Department (Tura)
    • Tourism and Hotel Management Department
  • School of Education
    • Adult and Continuing Education Department
    • Centre for Distance Education
    • Centre for Science Education
    • Education Department
    • Education Department, Tura Campus
  • School of Human & Environmental Sciences
    • Anthropology Department
    • Environmental Studies Department
    • Geography Department
    • Horticulture Department
    • Rural Development and Agricultural Production
  • School of Humanities
    • English Department
    • English Department (Tura Campus)
    • Garo Department (Tura Campus)
    • Hindi Department
    • Khasi Department
    • Linguistics Department
    • Philosophy Department
  • School of Life Sciences
    • Biochemistry Department
    • Biotechnology & Bioinformatics Department
    • Botany Department
    • Zoology Department
  • School of Physical Sciences
    • Chemistry Department
    • Mathematics Department
    • Physics Department
    • Statistics Department
  • School of Social Sciences
    • Cultural & Creative Studies Department
    • History & Archaeology Department, Tura Campus
    • History Department
    • Law Department
    • Political Science Department
    • Sociology Department
  • School of Technology
    • Architecture Department
    • Basic Sciences & Social Sciences Department
    • Biomedical Engineering Department
    • Computer Applications Department
    • Electronics and Communication
    • Energy Engineering Department
    • Information Technology Department
    • Nanotechnology Department

Fee Structure

B.Tech– Rs 38,395/- per year

MBA– Rs 32,840/- per year


Frequently visited company- ZTE Banglore


hostel of the university


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.