Login to Your Account
  • Meritorious students at MNNIT Allahabad get free laptops

    Under the Central Sector Scholarship Scheme of Top Class Education for Schedule caste/Schedule tribe students, offered by the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment and the Ministry of Tribal Affairs, 18 engineering students of Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology (MNNIT) have given laptops.

    At a ceremony organised in the institute on Tuesday, students eligible for scholarship under this scheme were given laptops by MNNIT director Prof P Chakrabarti.

    Chakrabarti said it was heartening to see students being encouraged in this manner. He expressed gratitude towards the Central Government for offering the scheme, and congratulated the students on their achievement. He advised the students to use the laptops for their academic advancement.

    MNNIT spokesperson Tanuj Nandan said the scheme provides financial support to students for pursuing studies beyond class 12, with the objective of promoting qualitative education among students belonging to SC/ST categories. Under the scheme, students are eligible for financial support towards tuition and other fees, living expenses, purchase of books and stationery for the duration of their study in B. Tech programme, as also a state-of-the-art computer as one-time assistance. Students are selected on the basis of merit.

    The students who have received the laptops from B Tech I (2009-10 batch) include Sushobhit Chaudhary, Amrita Singh, Anuj Daya Bharti, Randhir Singh, Vishal Taraiya, Vishal Kumar, Vineet Kumar Nimesh, Anindita Mondal, Deeksha Singh, Prashant Kumar, Umesh Chandra and Anant Kumar Chaudhary.

    Under the Central Sector Scholarship Scheme of Top Class Education ST students, offered by the Ministry of Tribal Affairs, following students have got the laptops: Chandan Kumar Singh (B. Tech I, 2007-08 batch), Naresh Bhatt (B. Tech I, 2008-09 batch), Bhanu Pratap Singh (B. Tech I, 2008-09 batch), Pradeep Kumar (B. Tech I 2008-09 batch), Surendra Kumar Meena (B. Tech I, 2009-10 batch) and Diwakar Kumar (B. Tech I, 2009-10 batch).
    Source: TOI