National Institute Of Technology- Durgapur
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nit-durgapur.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	90.8 KB 
ID:	31409

  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgy

Mechanical and allied branches

Mechanical Engineering

Department of Mechanical Engineering is the largest and one of the oldest departments of the Institute started in the year 1960. It offers both undergraduate (B.Tech.) and postgraduate (M.Tech.) degree course apart from doctoral programme.
The annual intake of the UG course is 90+ and that of the PG course is 15. At present about 14 students are doing their doctoral research with the department. The department comprises of well-qualified faculty, supporting staff and suitably equipped laboratory. The continuous development of faculty and up gradation of the laboratories makes the department at per with the current day academic and research requirement of global standard which is reflected by continuously increasing student of the department opting for higher studies in India and abroad.
Department of Mechanical Engineering offers one PG course with specialization: Machine Design and Production. For the benefit of the students who are at the Industry or in other Institute nearby, the department runs a parallel module of part time course. This overview contains the curriculum of the UG and PG courses, profile of the faculty, a list of the laboratories and the publications for the last two years by the faculty.


Dictionary tells us it's the scientific study of metals and its uses. Ever since the dawn of the bronze age, gradually metals have reached the zenith of the domination each and every step of the civilization. Technologically speaking metals are ruling the entire universe with aircrafts in the sky and submarines under the ocean. A lion's share of the credit for the advent of the reign of metals goes to its parent branch metallurgical engineering.
A highly qualified faculty adorns this department. Their single minded dedication towards this noble branch has taken it to the prestigious position it holds today. In addition, highly expensive machineries, ornament, the laboratories of the metallurgical engineering department, some of which range in lakhs. This facilitates the students to expand their horizon of knowledge.
The instron- a specialized universal testing machine, which is one of the costliest machines sits grandly in the laboratory. There is a microscopic study laboratory, thermo dynamics laboratory, corrosion laboratory equipped with state of art machines. Melting facility and testing facility is also available. The department of Metallurgy, soon to be called the department of Metallurgy and Material Science Engineering Department has high level interactions with the CMERI, DSP and other steel plants in and around Durgapur. They provide testing and consultancy services to these institutions. The department has also been accredited by National Board of Accredition for 5 years.
In this branch research is the order of the day. If the laboratories and red-blue chemicals are the stuff your dreams are made of, then this is the branch offers you more scope than imaginable.

Mode of Admission: JEE MAINS.

Expected JEE Mains Cutoff:
Branch Opening Rank Closing Rank
Mechanical Engineering 7462 11590
Metallurgy 14456 19181

Tuition Fee:
  • INR Rs. 31,017/-

Hostel Fee: N/A

  • BHEL
  • BORL
  • BPCL
  • CCIL
  • DRDO
  • GAIL
  • GE
  • HAL
  • IOCL
  • L&T(ECC)
  • Nomura
  • NTPC
  • Solid Core
  • SPCL
  • TCIL

Faculty Members:

Mechanical Engineering
  • Basak Indrajit
  • Banerjee Nilotpal
  • Bera Biswajit
  • Biswas Arup Kumar
  • De Jagannath
  • Ghosh Sukamal
  • Halder Biswajit
  • Hui Nirmal Baran
  • Karmakar Sujit
  • Khan Kallol
  • Layek Apurba
  • Majumder Manik Chandra
  • Mullick Amarnath
  • Mitra Ambuj Kumar
  • Mitra Ranjan Kumar
  • Mukherjee Sumit
  • Patari Animesh
  • Pramanik Achintya Kumar
  • Pramanik Shantanu
  • Puri Asit Baran
  • Rana Subhas
  • Roy Shibendu Shekhar
  • Saha Anup Kumar
  • Sengupta Amitava
  • Sil Somnath
  • Das Asim Kumar

  • Bhardwaj Mukesh
  • Bhattacharya Ashish
  • Chakraborty Rajib
  • Ghosh Karuna Sindhu
  • Ghosh M. M.
  • Maity Joydeep
  • Mitra Swapan
  • Mondal Dipak Kumar
  • Mondal Manas Kumar
  • pramanik susanta
  • roy r.N.
  • Bera Supriya
  • Mallik Manab

Address: National Institute of Technology Durgapur, West Bengal India PIN 713209